John A. Crafton Lifetime Achievement Award

The John A. Crafton Lifetime Achievement Award was created to honor individuals who have demonstrated significant and sustained contribution to the field of school business administration in the Commonwealth. It is intended to provide meaningful recognition to an individual for an entire professional career rather than a single event or project.

The award was created in 2013 and named for MASBO's fourth Executive Director, who embodied the notion of lifetime achievement both in his work and in service to the organization. Eligible candidates can be active or retired, and must have served in the field of school business administration for twenty-five years, with twenty years of service within MASBO; and have received a recognition in the field (e.g. an ASBO Award like Pinnacle, Eagle, Meritorious Budget, or comparable). Nominees should have served in a MASBO leadership capacity (Board member, Board Subcommittee member, program leadership, etc.), have earned another MASBO award, served in an ASBO leadership capacity (Board member, Subcommittee member, etc.), and is held in the highest regard by colleagues within their district and by MASBO. Criteria for consideration include (but are not limited to): development of innovative programs within the field or within MASBO; creation of ways to provide opportunities for professional development within their district or MASBO; and creation of programs or services that can be models for replication in other districts/schools. Board members are not eligible for the award.

Nominations are entertained from an existing voting Board member and approval of two-thirds of the Board of Directors. Solicitation of nominees is at the discretion of the Board. The award is not expected to be conferred every year, but on occasion when an individual's contribution to the profession is noteworthy. It is the final award presented at the May Annual Institute (unless other arrangements are necessary).

This award is nominated by an existing Board member with a 2/3 Board vote approval and is conferred at the May conference.


  • Brian E. Allen, Worcester Public Schools


  • John A. Crafton